An alternative to CleanMyMac’s updater for Mac
CleanMyMac, from MacPaw, cleans junk, scans for malware, frees space and uninstalls apps, and its Updater module also lists and installs app updates. If updates are the part you use, this page compares that module with Floodtide, an app that does nothing else.
Side by side
| App | Price | Pricing model | Updates from | macOS minimum | Verification | Status in October 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Floodtide | £10.99€12.99$14.99 once for 3 Macs; £19.99€23.99$27.99 for 6 (Household) | One-time purchase. The Tide, an optional add-on at £9.99€11.99$13.99 a year, adds hand-researched apps; Floodtide for Teams is £7.00€8.00$9.00 per Mac a year. | Homebrew casks, Sparkle feeds, GitHub Releases, Mac App Store apps (through a privileged helper) and a hand-researched feed of about 2,000 apps | macOS 13 or later, Intel and Apple silicon | Checks the published checksum where there is one, the code signature and the developer’s Team ID; keeps a backup for one-click undo | On sale and maintained; 14-day full trial, scanning stays free after it; in English, French, German and Spanish |
| CleanMyMac (MacPaw) | From $3.33 a month, as MacPaw’s product page states it | Monthly or yearly subscription, or a one-time purchase that covers the current major version; plans for 1, 2 or 5 Macs; 7-day free trial. Also included in a Setapp subscription. | Mac App Store apps, apps that update through Sparkle, and what MacPaw calls custom updates. The App Store edition of CleanMyMac leaves out App Store updates. | macOS 11 or later | Not stated by MacPaw for app updates | On sale; version 5.5.7, released 22 July 2026 |
Facts about other apps are as their own pages stated them on the date above; "not stated" means the sources listed at the foot of this page do not say.
When CleanMyMac is the better choice
- You want one app for cleaning, malware and updates. CleanMyMac also clears system junk, scans for malware, finds large and duplicate files and uninstalls apps with their leftovers. Floodtide only does updates.
- You already pay for Setapp. CleanMyMac is included in a Setapp subscription, so its updater costs nothing extra there.
- Your Mac runs macOS 11 or 12. CleanMyMac supports macOS 11 and later; Floodtide needs macOS 13.
What Floodtide does differently
Homebrew, GitHub and a hand-researched feed
MacPaw names three kinds of update in CleanMyMac’s Updater: App Store, Sparkle and custom. Floodtide reads Sparkle feeds and updates App Store apps too, then adds Homebrew casks, GitHub Releases, Electron feeds and a hand-researched feed of about 2,000 apps, and labels any app it cannot cover instead of leaving it off the list.
Its checks are written down
Before an update is installed, Floodtide checks the checksum the source publishes, where there is one, and the code signature and Team ID against the copy already on your Mac; a download nothing can vouch for is refused. The old version is kept, so Undo Last Update is one click away.
Pay once, or only scan
Floodtide is £10.99€12.99$14.99 once for 3 Macs after a 14-day trial, and the scan stays free with no time limit. A subscription is never required; the Tide is an optional add-on.
Common questions
Does CleanMyMac update apps?
Yes. Its Smart Care routine includes a software update step, and MacPaw’s feature table lists an Updater with App Store, Sparkle and custom updates in the editions sold by MacPaw and through Setapp. The App Store edition of CleanMyMac leaves out App Store updates.
How much does CleanMyMac cost?
MacPaw’s product page says plans start at $3.33 a month. CleanMyMac is sold as a monthly or yearly subscription or as a one-time purchase of the current major version, with plans for 1, 2 or 5 Macs and a 7-day free trial, and it is part of Setapp. Floodtide is £10.99€12.99$14.99 once for 3 Macs, and scanning is free.
Can I keep CleanMyMac and use Floodtide for updates?
Yes. Floodtide only updates apps and never touches CleanMyMac’s data, so CleanMyMac can go on cleaning while Floodtide handles updates. If both offer the same update, installing it from either one is enough.
Which macOS versions do CleanMyMac and Floodtide need?
CleanMyMac needs macOS 11 or later, per MacPaw’s product page. Floodtide needs macOS 13 Ventura or later, on Intel and Apple silicon Macs.
Sources
- MacPaw, CleanMyMac: Smart Care, system requirements, starting price, latest versionhttps://macpaw.com/cleanmymac
- MacPaw support, Feature availability and differences: the Updater by edition (updated 21 April 2026)https://macpaw.com/support/cleanmymac/knowledgebase/feature-plans
- MacPaw support, Choose your marketplace: plans, free trial, number of Macshttps://macpaw.com/support/cleanmymac/knowledgebase/editions
- MacPaw support, One-time purchase or subscription: what each includes, Setapphttps://macpaw.com/support/cleanmymac/knowledgebase/purchase-options
Compare them on your own Mac
Download Floodtide and let it scan. The list of what is out of date is free, and the 14-day trial unlocks every install. Keep the app you use now until you have put the two lists side by side.