An alternative to Latest, for the apps it cannot see

Latest is free, open source and good at what it does. Its own README says it covers apps from the Mac App Store and apps using Sparkle. Floodtide reads those too, and then keeps going.

The two side by side

Floodtide and Latest compared, checked 13 October 2026
AppPricePricing modelUpdates frommacOS minimumStatus in October 2026
Floodtide£10.99 once for 3 Macs; £19.99 for 6One-time purchase. The Tide, an optional add-on at £9.99 a year, adds hand-researched apps; nothing free moves behind it.Homebrew casks, Sparkle feeds, GitHub Releases, Mac App Store apps (through a privileged helper) and a hand-researched feed of about 2,000 appsmacOS 13 or later, Intel and Apple siliconOn sale and maintained; 14-day full trial, scanning stays free after it, no account needed
LatestFreeFree and open source (GPL-3.0)Mac App Store apps and apps that update through Sparkle, per its READMENot stated in our sourcesNo stable release since 0.11, with 0.12 in beta; repository last changed July 2026

The facts about Latest are from its README and release list; "not stated" means they do not say.

Where the two overlap

Both apps read the Sparkle update feed written inside an app bundle and ask the developer directly what the current version is. That is the best answer available for any app that publishes one, and neither app needs a curated database to get it. For a Mac whose applications all ship appcasts, Latest will tell you the same thing Floodtide does, for nothing, and you should keep using it.

The difference starts with everything that does not publish an appcast.

Homebrew casks, without needing Homebrew

3,316 app bundles can be matched through the Homebrew catalogue, which thousands of contributors maintain continuously. Floodtide matches what you have installed against it and fetches each vendor’s own download, checked against Homebrew’s published checksum, or against the developer signature already on the copy you are replacing. You do not need Homebrew installed for any of that. If you do run it, a separate pane lists every cask, formula and tap and upgrades them through brew rather than around it.

GitHub Releases and Electron feeds

A large number of Mac apps publish neither an appcast nor a cask, and cut releases on GitHub or ship an Electron update feed instead. Floodtide reads both, picks one unambiguous Mac build rather than guessing between several, and verifies the SHA-512 an Electron feed publishes before anything is installed.

The Mac App Store, and the updaters Floodtide leaves alone

Latest can see App Store apps; Floodtide installs them. Press Update on a store row and the app updates in place, with no App Store window and no password, and Update All takes them along with everything else. Floodtide reads what the store is offering on this Mac rather than Apple's public listing, which is why an iPhone or iPad app on Apple silicon does not sit on the list for weeks claiming an update that is not on offer.

Apps another updater genuinely owns are still named as theirs rather than fought over. A Microsoft app says which release ring its version came from, and a Setapp app is listed as managed there, so the row explains itself instead of looking like a gap.

Anything left over

An app no source can resolve is labelled uncovered rather than paired with a guessed download. You can point it at a Sparkle feed or a GitHub repository yourself, and that choice wins over anything Floodtide works out on its own.

What paying buys

Scanning is free in Floodtide, forever and on any number of Macs. The list of what is out of date never goes behind the licence, because an updater that will not tell you what is outdated until you pay is not telling you anything useful. A licence unlocks installing: £10.99 once, 3 Macs, yours to keep, with a 14-day trial that unlocks everything first.

Every install keeps the version it replaced, so Undo Last Update is one click away for seven days, and each replacement is checked against the signature of the app it replaces before the job is called done. A download nothing can vouch for is never installed; the row says so and sends you to the developer instead.

Common questions

Is Latest still maintained?

Latest is free and open source, and its repository was last changed in July 2026, but there has been no stable release since 0.11; version 0.12 has been in beta since. If it already finds everything on your Mac, nothing here suggests replacing it.

What does Floodtide update that Latest does not?

Latest covers Mac App Store apps and apps that update through Sparkle, per its README. Floodtide reads those Sparkle feeds too, then adds Homebrew casks, GitHub Releases, Electron feeds and a hand-researched feed of about 2,000 apps, and it installs Mac App Store updates in place, with no App Store window and no password.

Can I keep using Latest alongside Floodtide?

Yes. Both read the same Sparkle feeds and neither touches the other’s data, so running them side by side during the trial is a fair way to see what each one finds.

Is Floodtide free?

Scanning is free, on any number of Macs, and the list of what is out of date never goes behind the licence. Installing is what you pay for: £10.99 once for 3 Macs, after a 14-day trial that unlocks everything first.

Check whether your apps are covered →

Sources